top of page

Annual Awards


Utah Tennis Association recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations. Below is a description of the awards. 

David L. Freed Award 

Established in 1979 to be presented annually to an individual who has constantly provided leadership and example both in quality of play and service to the game.

Volunteer of the Year

Established in 1991, the Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually to a person who personifies the dedication of the tennis player who gives selflessly to the growth of the sport through involvement and commitment to the Utah Tennis Association.

Linda Vincent
Community Service Award

Established in 1998, this award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the tennis community.

Chuck Bennorth
Marce Miles

Janet M. Dowse Award & Scholarship

Established in memory of Janet M. Dowse, Executive Director of the Utah Tennis Association from 1980 to May 1996. Jan was balanced in her approach to tennis and life, keeping both in proper perspective. This award & scholarship was established in 1996 and is awarded annually to a junior player who exemplifies integrity, willingness to help others, love of family and the joy of playing tennis. 

Hardy Owen &
Emmie Moore

Harry James
“Will to Win” Award

The “Will to Win” Award was established through the sponsorship of Wilson Racquet Sports in 1991 in memory of Harry James. The award is given from time to time to a wheelchair athlete for his or her outstanding contributions to the sport of tennis, both on and off the court.

Family of the Year Award

Established in 2007 this award is presented annually to the family within the Utah district who has exemplified the benefits of tennis as family recreational sport and has contributed to the tennis community in a significant way.

The Rideout Family

Captain of the Year 

This award is given to recognize the outstanding individual efforts of a league team captain in going above and beyond to serve their team/s.

Chris White & Valencia Warner

Developmental Coach
of the Year Award 

Initiated in 2015, this award is given to recognize the outstanding individual efforts of a developmental coach in the Utah District. This coach is honored for his or her unending dedication to developing tennis players at all ability levels through teaching and coaching, presence at tournaments and events and the ability to positively impact the lives of junior players on and off the court.

Georgy Batrakov

10 And Under Youth
Tennis Ambassador

This award is given to recognize the outstanding individual efforts of a coach, parent, Community Tennis Association (CTA), or other organization that is helping to build 10 and Under youth tennis.

DeeDee Brateanu
Dantley Young
Dantley Young
Dantley Young

If you would like to nominate someone you believe deserves recognition, please email Laurie Lambert.

bottom of page